Light & Verity

Elected Elis

Two alumnae join the ranks of Yalies in Congress.



Carolyn Bourdeaux ’92 D–GA View full image



Teresa Leger Fernandez ’82 D–NM View full image

Alumni can count two more of their ranks in the halls of Congress this year: Carolyn Bourdeaux ’92 (D–GA) and Teresa Leger Fernandez ’82 (D–NM) were elected to the House of Representatives, each for the first time, on November 3. Democrat Jaime Harrison ’98 lost in his bid to unseat Senator Lindsey Graham (R–SC). The rest of Yale’s alumni in Congressional seats or governors’ chairs were either reelected or not up for election in 2020. Below is a complete list.

* Tom Cole ’74MA (R–OK)
* Brett Guthrie ’97MPPM (R–KY)
* Bruce Westerman ’01MF (R–AR)
* Carolyn Bourdeaux ’92 (D–GA)
* Teresa Leger Fernandez ’82 (D–NM)
* Ro Khanna ’01JD (D–CA)
* Sheila Jackson Lee ’72 (D–TX)
* Eleanor Holmes Norton ’63MA, ’64LLB (D–DC)
* Katie Porter ’96 (D–CA)
* David Price ’64BD, ’69PhD (D–NC)
* John Yarmuth ’69 (D–KY)

   Josh Hawley ’06JD (R–MO)
* Ben Sasse ’04PhD (R–NE)
   Michael Bennet ’93JD (D–CO)
   Richard Blumenthal ’73JD (D–CT)
* Cory Booker ’97JD (D–NJ)
   Sherrod Brown ’74 (D–OH)
* Chris Coons ’92MAR, ’92JD (D–DE)
   Amy Klobuchar ’82 (D–MN)
   Sheldon Whitehouse ’78 (D–RI)

   Ron Desantis ’01 (R–FL)
   Ned Lamont ’80MBA (D–CT)
   Gina Raimondo ’98JD (D–RI; after our print edition went to press, President-elect Biden nominated Raimondo to be Secretary of Commerce)

* Elected or reelected in 2020

The comment period has expired.