More news about Yale people


William Kelly Simpson ’47, ’54PhD, professor emeritus of Egyptology, died on March 24. He was 89 years old. Simpson, who taught at Yale from 1958 until his retirement in 2004, led archeological expeditions in Egypt and served as curator of Egyptian and Ancient Near Eastern Art at Boston’s Museum of Fine Arts.

Stephen Ross, a former Sterling Professor of Economics and Finance, died on March 3. He was 73. Ross, an economic theorist best known for his arbitrage pricing theory, taught in the School of Management from 1977 to 1998 before moving to MIT. He won the Deutsche Bank Prize in Financial Economics in 2015.


Yale-NUS College

Yale-NUS College

View full image


Greg Sterling has been appointed to a second five-year term as dean of the Divinity School. Sterling’s first term included the development of a strategic plan for the school and a new partnership with Andover Newton Theological School. 

Yale-NUS College in Singapore has selected Tan Tai Yong (left) to be its second president. Tan, a former history professor at the National University of Singapore, was active in the planning of Yale-NUS, a new liberal arts college launched in 2012. Since 2014, he has served as the college’s vice president for academic affairs. Tan succeeds inaugural president Pericles Lewis, who is returning to Yale as a vice president and deputy provost.



In March, Yale announced the 2017 winners of the Windham-Campbell Prize, a $165,000 award for writing administered by the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library. This year’s winners are André Alexis and Erna Brodber (fiction); Maya Jasanoff ’02PhD and Ashleigh Young (nonfiction); Ali Cobby Eckermann and Carolyn Forché (poetry); and Marina Carr and Ike Holter (drama). 

Artist and designer Maya Lin ’81, ’86MArch, was presented with the Yale Undergraduates’ Lifetime Achievement Award in April. Yale College students elect the winner of the award, which is in its third year. The previous winners were former president George H. W. Bush ’48 and journalist Anderson Cooper ’89.

The comment period has expired.