School of drama

School Notes: David Geffen School of Drama
July/August 2023

James Bundy ’95MFA |

Scenic designer wins fellowship

David Geffen School of Drama scenic designer Marcelo Martínez Garcia ’23MFA has been named the recipient of the 2023 Burry Fredrik Design Fellowship and its $10,000 award.

The fellowship was established in 2017 by the Burry Fredrik Foundation to help launch the careers of graduates from the Geffen School’s design program. Each year, the faculty selects one graduating scenic, costume, lighting, projection, or sound designer as the Burry Fredrik Design Fellow, who will receive a cash award. In addition, the foundation will make a grant in an amount equivalent to a design fee to any eligible professional theater in Connecticut that hires any designer from the Class of 2023 in the next two years. 

“As an international artist, the opportunities the Burry Fredrik Design Fellowship provides are truly inspiring and moving. I am greatly looking forward to continuing to engage with the Connecticut theater community, and hope that my work and dedication will correspond to such generous support,” said Martínez Garcia. “It is truly exciting that theaters across Connecticut may also benefit from the amazing artistry of the talented class of David Geffen School of Drama designers who have inspired me for the last four years.”  

The comment period has expired.